Workshop on "Restructuring of Technical Education System in Odisha"

The NIST ISTE Chapter in collaboration with the ISTE Odisha Section organized a One-Day workshop on "Restructuring of Technical Education System in Odisha" on September 15, 2013, as a part of its 'Engineer's Day' celebration.

The eminent personalities present to grace the occasion were: Prof. Damodar Acharya, Ex-Chairman AICTE; Prof. Bimal Sarangi, Chairman, ISTE Odisha Section; Prof. Manas Ranjan Senapati, Secretary, ISTE Odisha Section; and Prof. Sangram Mudali, Director, NIST.

Prof. Sangram Mudali, in his inaugural speech, raised and highlighted some of the burning issues in the area of current technical education system in India, especially focusing on Odisha. Prof. Mudali's speech had enough food for everybody's thought. Prof. Damodar Acharya constructed his talk over the platform set by the Director of NIST, Berhampur. Prof. Acharya's talk was very informative that raised some serious concern over the prevalent trends and practices in the technical education system in Odisha.

Prof. Bimal Sarnagi was the third eminent speaker to express his opinion, viewpoints, observations, and share his experience(s) with the participants. He stressed on the use of technology to ease the life of a common man. He encouraged the students of engineering to make use of their technical skills and knowledge to make the life of common people easier, simpler, and better. Prof. Manas Ranjan Senapati was the next speaker to share his views and experiences. After the talk of the eminent guests, two student representatives (Shailaja Pandey, B.Tech 3rd Year, NIST, and Anmol Sagar Rath, B.Tech 2nd Year, NIST) shared their opinions on behalf of the entire student community. The talk of the students was well appreciated by the experts as well the other participants.

The ideas laid down by all the eminent speakers were made open for a panel discussion, including all the participants. The questions raised by the students of NIST were answered by the elite panel on the dais. The issues raised by the students were equally valid and logical, and therefore, the experts were busy throughout the session.

The faculty and student members of NIST ISTE chapter organized a Science Model Competition, a Quiz (oral and technical) and a C-Programming contest. The winners of these two competitions were awarded cash prizes and certificate of appreciation. The students of DAV Public School, St. Josephs Convent, and De-Paul school bagged the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes respectively. The prizes were given away by Prof. Damodar Acharya.

The live talk session between students and the elite (on-stage) panel, and the quiz competition "Jigyansa" were the major attractions of the event, which was coordinated by the faculty advisor of NIST ISTE Students Chapter Dr. Mihir Hota, who later proposed the 'Vote of Thanks'.