NIST awarded at eOdisha Summit, 2013

       National Institute of Science and Technology, Berhampur, adds another prestigious feather to its cap. The Institute bagged the ICT enabled Higher Education Institute award at the first Mega IT event, "eOdisha Summit, 2013" hosted by the Department of Information Technology, Government of Odisha, in association with Elets Technomedia. The mega event, inaugurated by the Chief Minister Mr. Navin Patnaik who was the Chief Guest on the occasion, was held in Bhubaneswar on March 6, 2013.

       Mr. Damodar Rout, Honorable Minister, Health & Family Welfare, and Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises, Government of Odisha, presented the award to the Institute in a grand ceremony. Mr. Bhawani Shankar Pattnaik, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, NIST, received the award from the minister on behalf of NIST, Berhampur.

       Speaking at the inaugural function, Mr. Navin Patnaik said, "Odisha has several e-Governance projects being implemented in different development domains including education, health and the governance. The State is playing an active role for the promotion and implementation of Information & Communication Technology solutions in the government and has taken a leading role for taking the eGovernance drive during the last decade by building a strong foundation for better and more transparent governance so as to reach the unreached."

      "The Government of Odisha aspires to become a leading destination for investments in IT and ESDM sector so as to transform the State into a knowledge society and make available the benefits of information technology to all citizens. Four major IT companies - Infosys, TCS, Wipro and Mahindra Satyam - have established their development centers in the capital which is a matter of pride for the State," the Chief Minister said.

       Mr. Madhusudan Padhi, Commissioner & Secretary, Department of IT, Government of Odisha; Mr. S.N. Tripathy, Principal Secretary, Rural Development Department, Government of Odisha; Mr. Aswini Kumar Mishra, Special Secretary, Finance Department, Government of Odisha; and Mr. Ravi Gupta, Editor, eGov , graced the occasion.